Hello, Howdy, Hey, Hi

I have a pet peeve.  I have many I suppose.  But this one rears its head more than others.  I try to stop myself from letting this bother me, but after years of trying, I see that I cannot.  It annoys me to no end that people do not speak.  I can’t seem to understand why it is that as I walk through a store or down a hallway at work, or perhaps out on the street, that people do not reciprocate the common greeting that is known to man.  I am baffled that after catching eye contact with a person, that they don’t feel the same urge to speak as I do.

I am a loud person.  I talk loud, laugh loud and am told to quiet down a lot.  So I know that when I speak to people during my daily activities, that they for sure hear me.  There may be the occasional malfunctioning hearing aid to challenge this, but for the most part, I’m pretty sure I’m heard.  And still, people will walk on by.

Who can explain this to me?  Are folks just that deep in thought?  Or that enveloped in their own stresses that they truly do not hear greetings from others?  Or are we becoming a selfish society where we don’t even care enough about others to engage in the common kind word?

Tell me what you think.

Leave a Reply

